The Future of Battlefield

Photobucket

What does the future hold for the Battlefield series? Well, we know what the immediate future holds, with Battlefield 3 slated for release this winter, and the Play4Free game currently under works for the PC, but what about after that? With updates and DLC for Battlefield 3, and a new Medal of Honor game, the boys and girls at DICE will have plenty to keep them occupied (that’s assuming that DICE will be working on the new MoH, maybe EA will ditch the two developer approach that they took with the 2010 Medal of Honor reboot and just stick with a lone developer, either DICE or Danger Close).

But wait, what about that new console supposedly launching at the end of this year? Yes, that’s right, the NGP/PSP2. Could the next Battlefield game be released on Sony’s handheld powerhouse?

I can hear the Battlefield purists cries from here, and all I have to say on that matter is…

The NGPSP2 (which I will just refer to as “NGP” from here on) already has Killzone and Resistance titles in the works along with a Call of Duty title. No matter what your opinion on FPS’s, the thought of being able to play those, or similar games, on the go sounds extremely appealing no?

Now I know what your thinking, “But Battlefield and CoD, although both being FPS’s, are two very different games”, and you would be right to think that. Call of Duty’s small, tight, corridor like maps will be be easier to squeeze into the NGP than Battlefield’s sprawling, erm, Battlefields! However, did you know that Bad Company 2 was released on the iPhone? Here’s a small clip of it:

OK, so it’s not exactly the experience that you got when playing on the PC or console version of the game, but if they can do this with the iPhone, imagine what they will be able to do on the exceptionally more powerful NGP. And it will also have proper controls thanks to the new handheld coming equipped with dual analogue sticks. The NGP could be the first ever handheld to cater to fans of FPS’s, and to do it well.

Photobucket

 

There’s one major problem though. EA are not on the initial list of publishers that are currently working on the NGP. Whether they are waiting to see how well the new handlheld console does in sales during the recession, or they just haven’t officially announced that they actually are  working on titles for it, it’s safe to assume that somewhere down the line, EA will be jumping on board, and that will hopefully mean another great Battlefield game, only this will be one that you can enjoy everywhere you go. Say buh-bye to your social life indeed!

 

NGP:

CPU ARM® Cortex™-A9 core (4 core)
GPU SGX543MP4+
External
Dimensions
Approx. 182.0 x 18.6 x 83.5mm (width x height x depth) (tentative, excludes largest projection)
Screen
(Touch screen)
5 inches (16:9), 960 x 544, Approx. 16 million colors,
OLED Multi touch screen (capacitive type)
Rear touch pad Multi touch pad (capacitive type)
Cameras Front camera, Rear camera
Sound Built-in stereo speakers
Built-in microphone
Sensors Six-axis motion sensing system (three-axis gyroscope, three-axis accelerometer), Three-axis electronic compass
Location Built-in GPS
Wi-Fi location service support
Keys / Switches PS button
Power button
Directional buttons (Up/Down/Right/Left)
Action buttons (Triangle, Circle, Cross, Square)
Shoulder buttons (Right/Left)
Right stick, Left stick
START button, SELECT button
Volume buttons (+/-)
Wireless
communications
Mobile network connectivity (3G)
IEEE 802.11b/g/n (n = 1×1)(Wi-Fi) (Infrastructure mode/Ad-hoc mode)
Bluetooth® 2.1+EDR (A2DP/AVRCP/HSP)

This entry was posted in Battlefield News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Future of Battlefield

  1. Fabe says:

    The PSP, looks pretty good. I might actually buy it… Maybe.

    Handheld’s often let me down..

  2. Hendrik says:

    Nice post m8.

    I probable will be buying it i’ve seen the gameplay on it and it impressed me(Uncharted!)
    I also got the PSPgo but it’s standing on the cradle collecting dust most of the time.

    That’s because I like it more playing the games on my 40 inch screen instead of a 5 inch.

    Oh and what about Batlefield Bad Company 3???

    • Golden says:

      Thanks man.

      Lol, you weren’t joking when you said time was the problem, not money! Yeah, it’s great being able to play these games on the go, but it’s always nice to get home and enjoy them on something a bit bigger where you can really appreciate the visuals of a game. I’m determined to get a projector for gaming someday, in fact, I wish I had of got one instead of my HDTV. 90″ screen size for a similar price wins hands down!

      I’d say Bad Company 3 will be at least 3 years away, if not maybe on the next generation of consoles. This article was more or less just something I think would be cool to happen.

      @Fabe:

      What way have they let you down?

  3. Hendrik says:

    @ Golden you got the 3DS or not? How is it?

    I think I’m gonna sell my PSPgo so I can use the money for the NGP or a other game.

  4. Muse83 says:

    I’m loving the new version as I use my PSP3000 all the time, any time I know i’m gonna be waiting around for a while then it goes in my pocket.
    I’m loving the fact the new one comes with dual analogue sticks, maybe now you can play PS3(or 4) games through remote play.

    • Golden says:

      Yeah, I ‘ve always had my DS (now 3DS) with me so I can get a bit of gaming done when things are quiet. I never got an original PSP, although I’ve been seriously thinking about getting one lately, but I think I may just hold off to get the new one.

      There have been talking a lot about the possibilities of interaction with the PS3, something I understand that the PSP had but wasn’t really utilised that much. So it will be exciting to see what they will do with it this time around.

      @Hendrik:

      Yeah, the 3DS is a nice bit of kit, not that many interesting games for it at the minute, but given it’s Nintendo, they won’t be long in releasing some. I picked up PES 2011 with it at launch (I hate hate HATE football, but for some reason I enjoy playing it on a gaming machine),you can really see the 3D effect in the replays, aswell as during the match, but some of the replays/cutscenes look amazing.

      Funny thing is, (and it’s not just me, I’ve been reading of this haapening to other people) that after using the 3DS for an hour or two, if I go look at some web page, the text actually looks like it’s in 3D for about a minute while my eyes adjust back too “2D”! It’s a strange sensation for sure!

      • Muse83 says:

        There’s been talk about whether the 3DS is bad for your eyesight and there’s a lower age limit for kids to prevent damage while their eyes are developing.

        Maybe some truth in the rumour?

Leave a Reply

