So, guess what…

My 60gb is having problems reading discs now… I could either open it up or get a lens cleaner… I think.

But instead I’m opting to buy a brand new Playstation, might as well, and just transfer all my saved data and what-not. Someimtes I manage to get on a game but then it refuses to load.

So hopefully this month I will get a new console.

About EightyThor

Sup bruh!
This entry was posted in Team Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to So, guess what…

  1. yvdsvestas says:

    Probable the discdrive is having failures this is a common problem on the 60gb.
    Mine died last year (YLOD) I returned it to sony for repair for 100 euro…..
    So maybe this a option to. also you can try to reset/format the PS3 (back-up data)

    In the meantime I buyed a PS3 slim 250 gb so I have 2 now šŸ™‚ (living and bedroom) LOL

  2. Fabe says:

    I tried opening it up but I don’t have the correct tools to do so. It’s pissing me off…

    … Unable to play games once it gets to a major loading screen, or it just doesn’t load at all.

  3. Golden says:

    I feel for ya dude, since it’s a backwards compatible PS3 it sucks even more šŸ˜¦

    You are bound to get a cheepish one from your workplace, or even from your friend that works in GAME, along with his discount it should work out pretty decent money.

    @yvdsvestas: Lol, well I guess I know who I’m gonna pickpocket if at the annual iHS-Con!

  4. yvdsvestas says:

    No need to open up jou can’t fix it unless you have the drive.
    but with a precision/screwdrive set you should be able to do it

    @Golden…..annual iHS con?

  5. Fabe says:

    IHS-Con (Convention) lol

    Fuck it man, I’m buying a new PS, I already started looking at PS3 bundles that include the Move.

    • Muse83 says:

      What do you guys do to your machines!?

      I’ve never had a problem with a PS/2/3 ever, not even a dodgy cable! I’ve still got all three in perfect condition.
      I wouldn’t say i’m the most avid gamer but it gets plenty of use and I cart it around around with me all the time.

      Maybe you guys should get a SEGA Megadrive. They’re virtually indestructible if you don’t mind them reseting everytime you touch the power cable šŸ™‚

      • Fabe says:

        Lol as a person that knows you, I’M NOT SURPRISED.

        But no, my PS3 has just gone on Dr. Atkin’s Blu Ray diet. It refuses to accept ’em.

        I saw a nice bundle from GAME for Ā£284.99. 320GB PS, PS Move and SIMS 3.

  6. oscarthegrouch71 says:

    My PS3 has just died on me – three beeps then flashing red light. Has anybody here tried, or know somebody who has tried, to reflow the solder on the GPU’s? It’s out of warranty so I really have nothing to lose by trying it out and it will at least allow me to backup my data…..

    • yvdsvestas says:

      The problem is the HDD and heating up of the console.
      this is the most common problem on the PS3 and of course the YLOD.

      What you can do is when the problem occurs is to shut down the power to the console, cooldown the PS3 remove the HDD and the reinsert the drive and start-up the console
      again.

      Then it should work again. (I hope for you)

      Good Luck m8!!!

      • Hendrik says:

        Don’t know about the soldering of the GPU, but if my method works you can back-up your data!

      • oscarthegrouch71 says:

        Just tried out your suggestion a few times and no luck I’m afraid….. I suppose I could transfer the HDD into a caddy and manually back up the files onto a flash drive. I have done some research on the reflow and there is a handy youtube walkthrough on how to do it, although it does only appear to be a temporary solution and could only last a few months before it happens again…… maybe it’s time to invest in a slim?

  7. Hendrik says:

    That sucks it didn’t work, also saw the vid on youtube indeed it’s a temporarily solution.
    Don’t know If I would spend my time on it… probable not.

    My opinion is if you got the money for it to buy a new PS3.

    Or send the defect PS3 in for repair, I repaired mine for 100 euro (136,97 Dollar)

  8. oscarthegrouch71 says:

    Have decided to give the reflow a go as I have a suitable heat gun and only need to buy thermal paste anyway, and will let you know how I get on… then in March my son would like a new mobile phone for his birthday so shall choose a contract that includes a free PS3 slim….. BARGAIN

  9. oscarthegrouch71 says:

    It worked!! I now have a fully functioning PS3 again…… hope to see some of you online again soon.

Leave a Reply

