Bad Company 2 Map Pack 6, Cheap MoH Preorder and My 3D TV Experience

Map pack 6 is coming to Bad Company 2 some time next week. No details on what it will be though.

Regarding the MoH preorder, I was in my local HMV on Tuesday and seen they where doing a limited offer for the standard edition of Medal of Honor.  While stocks lasted, they were offering it for £30 which is an absolute bargain, and at least £8 cheaper than the cheapest option I’ve came across so far. Mind you, the standard edition doesn’t come with any early/exclusive unlocks or the Battlefield 3 beta invitation that the Limited and Tier 1 editions come with. Still, If you’re after the bare bones, this is a pretty good offer.

Now, onto the 3D thing. I have always said that this 3D business was a gimmick, tacked on at the end of a movie by desperate Hollywood directors as an after thought to try and grab a few more sales. I hated it so much, that me and my girlfriend nearly had a row because I refused to watch Alice in Wonderland in 3D (to which I eventually gave in!). So when my grandad told me about the 3D TV he was given a demonstration on in Currys and how great it was, I was a bit skeptical, but decided to go with him again to have a look and ask some questions.

The model we were shown was one of the more expensive Samsung LED TV’s, the 46″ costing £2100 i think. Let’s just say, it was nothing like in the cinema. It was proper stereoscopic 3D. The was a bit in the demo that took place at a Black Eyed Peas concert, the 3D effect was so good, that I didn’t even notice the awful B.E.P music in the background! It was like I was actually standing in the crowd, the audience didn’t seem like the cardboard cut out raised out from the background 3D that I’ve seen in the cinema (I hope that makes sense to people?!). It even converts normal TV broadcasts into 3D, as well as hooks up to the internet for streaming Youtube/iPlayer/4OD etc and can record programs directly to a hard drive.

Now, naturally, I was excited to ask about how the PS3 performed seeing how Sony are pushing the whole 3D thing at the minute. The guy I asked said that he has only ever seen Motorstorm played on a 3D TV and that it was a bit blurry. Boo! I heard Super Stardust HD was supposed to be amazing in 3D. I would love to bring my PS3 into the store and try out some of the games in 3D for myself, but I don’t know if they would be too happy about that!

So yeah, I’m no longer such a 3D hater! £2100 for a TV is expensive, but Samsung has an LCD 3D range which is a lot cheaper than the LED ones. A 40″ with 2 pairs of active shutter glasses can be had for £950 on Amazon, with the 46″ and glasses going for £1220, so about half the price of the LED range. Sure, the LED TV’s produce a bit more vibrant colours and darker blacks, but is it really worth an extra £1000 for the privilege? I really don’t think so.

My grandad is really considering getting one of these TV’s, so as soon as he does, the first thing I’ll do is hook the PS3 up and test it out!

EDIT: Sorry, I forgot to add the source where I got the info about the new VIP DLC, it was from the Battlefield Blog.

This entry was posted in Bad Company 2, Battlefield News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad Company 2 Map Pack 6, Cheap MoH Preorder and My 3D TV Experience

  1. Donncha says:

    Oh, map mode pack 6 next week then? Good! Doubt somehow if it’ll feature any new maps though.

    • goldengate88 says:

      Yeah, would be great if we got some new locations. I’m not holding my breath, but they seem to have been a bit quiet on this map pack, so they could be planning something. Long shot I know!

      The only map I’ve really liked from the VIP DLC were Laguna Presa Rush, just because it sort of felt like a brand new map.

      Also, thanks for mentioning us on your blog.

      Oh, by the way, I forgot to say where I got the info on the new map pack ( I have now added it to the original post), but it was from the Battlefield Blog.

      • Fabe says:

        We got mentioned?
        Also, I don’t see why Donncha doesnt’ join us here at iHS. Lol we need an Xbox divsion and I see you play on Xbox too.

  2. Fabe says:

    Man… that’s still too expensive man lol.

    • goldengate88 says:

      I know, it’s a pretty crazy price, but in a year or so they will be £500 and hopefully some of the games out then will make proper use of the technology. I’d love to see what Killzone 3 and Gran Turismo would look like on it.

  3. Pingback: Mode Pack #6 is apparently coming to Bad… « Gamertag: xeer2000

Leave a Reply

